University, it’s a decision that mustn’t be taken lightly!

So of course many eighteen years old picked up that dreaded brown envelope last thursday and felt their lives depended on it! I remember my results day and I had never felt so physically sick in my entire life. I couldn’t even open my results at sixth form and we actually had to drive to the coast before I’d open them! That was obviously a whole year ago and I’m now weeks away from starting my Law degree in Sheffield! Excited is an understatement..

There are probably many mantras such as ‘if you didn’t get what you wanted don’t feel bad’ flying around on various social media networks but it is the truth! A lot of people I know missed their original offer and they still got into their first choice university! It’s also important to remember that university isn’t for everyone and it’s not a decision that should be taken lightly. It’s a costly decision and it’s a huge commitment not just financially but also emotionally! I have wanted to go to university for years now! I wanted to prove to those who doubted me and also to myself that I could successfully get through my schooling and get a good career! Albeit I had no intention of studying Law several years ago! It seemed like a futile dream to even get to university in all honesty! There was so much stacked against me and it was only due to my sheer determination I managed to deliver in my examinations and got to where I am now. I have always believed in the saying ‘things happen for a reason’

I had originally thought about applying for a nursing course, and I had written the personal statement and started looking at universities but it clearly wasn’t meant to be as nothing fell into place. It just didn’t look like it was ever going to happen! Extenuating circumstances made this near impossible and in the end I didn’t even submit my UCAS application. My friends had applied to university and were getting conditional offers and I just felt completely deflated about the whole situation. AS level results were released and they were not what I wanted, yes I’d passed them but it was not what I needed/wanted. This was the turning point for everything, I needed to prove to myself and everyone else that I could do better and these results did not determine my future. Unlike my friends I didn’t have to send my AS level grades as a prediction so I merely just threw my all into studying for my A2 levels. My determination has always driven me in every difficult circumstance in my life. A lot of people in my position most likely would have ‘thrown in the towel’ so to speak, but stubborn old me was not taking no for an answer! I re-sat a few exams and bought my grades up considerably! I worked hard, studied hard and final exams came around! I was terrified, I remember going into my exams and just writing so much down and thinking oh I hope that’s right!! I sat my exams and ‘tried my best’ that’s all you can do! That summer went so slowly, it was always at the back of my mind! Results day came around and I was so relieved and pleased. I’d done better than some who had been predicted higher!! I wanted to get C and above and I did just that!

The moral of the story is to not give up when the going get’s tough, I’d debated about re sitting year 12 and I was that close to doing just that but I didn’t! A levels are hard and there’s no denying that! So whatever you got for your A levels be proud of yourself! I am forever setting myself goals, getting into Law school was my first goal, second goal is to get a good degree classification, third goal is to either do a postgraduate masters degree or the legal practice course! I will get there. I hope this fills you with some hope if your results are leaving you feeling deflated! Once I’d got my results I wrote my personal statement (I took a gap year… blog post to follow) and it only needed to be amended once (only re wording a few lines) Everything fell into place, my UCAS application was sent off and within 24 hours I’d received two unconditional offers to study LLB Hons Law with Criminology! Things do happen for a reason! I wish you all the best of luck at your chosen university, gap year project, apprenticeship or full time employment! My favourite quote of all time sums it up

“Nothing is impossible, the word itself says I’m possible!”

Leave a Reply

