Happy Monday little web makers! Hello to any new readers, you are wonderful and greatly appreciated! You are all probably well accustomed to Chars ‘Meaningful Monday post’ where I declare how down right happy and grateful I am for absolutely everything? Yes of course you do!

So to spice things up a bit I’m going to make Meaningful Monday all about music which has meaning to me! I know I’m so original! I don’t actually think I’ve ever made a blog post about music *yet* it is about to change lets get going then shall we! I think I’ll post my top 10 songs that hold meaning, they will be posted randomly because I don’t think I can put them in a meaningful rating scale.

maxresdefault
Rudimental: Not giving in

This song holds quite a lot of meaning, it was released it a pretty challenging time of life, I used to literally play this on repeat because it was inspiring and it gave me hope. I absolutely adore Rudimental and this song in my opinion was just the icing on the cake!

Well, it’s time to start the show
Lost my heart and lost my soul
Now it’s the time that you won’t know
Lost my mind and lost my goal

Not giving in
I’m not giving in
Not giving in
I’m not giving in, yeah

This time, I’m gonna be stronger I’m not giving in
This time, I’m gonna be stronger, no, I’m not giving in

wankelmut-emma-louise-my-head-is-a-jungle
My head is a jungle!

This song has quite a bit of meaning because it was really popular in the first few months of university and I had a brilliant first year at university and therefore this song will always remind me of happy times, dancing carefree, sipping cheap drinks and watching my friends shuffling across the dance floor. As the song goes…

In a dark room we fight, make up for our love
I’ve been thinking, thinking about you, about us
And we’re moving slow, our hearts beat so fast
I’ve been dreaming, dreaming about you, about us

Hey, hey, hey, hey
My head is a jungle, jungle
My head is a jungle, jungle
My head is a jungle, jungle

So yeah πŸ˜›

maxresdefault-1

So erm Arctic Monkeys doesn’t exactly hold any particular meaning except I absolutely love them and I live in their home city πŸ˜‰ but that doesn’t exactly count! I blooming love the song ‘Knee Socks’ & ‘Arabella’ basically I love all of their songs and could listen to them on repeat all the time! This post is rapidly losing meaning (I’m just going to go with Music Monday from here on out)

You got the lights on in the afternoon
And the nights are drawn out long
And you’re kissing to cut through the gloom
With a cough drop coloured tongue
And you were sitting in the corner with the coats all piled high
And I thought you might be mine
In a small world on an exceptionally rainy Tuesday night
In the right place and time

When the zeros line up on the 24 hour clock
When you know who’s calling even though the number is blocked
When you walked around your house wearing my sky blue Lacoste
And your knee socks

maxresdefault-2

I love his music, it’s so dreamy and easy to listen to and just absolutely beautiful. I really like this song, I’ve actually incorporated this into one of my more ‘philosophical posts’ click here to get deep! It’s literally dreamy and perfect and fills me with all the feels. It’s a perfect song to relax to.

Take me to the docks, there’s a ship without a name there
And it is sailing to the middle of the sea
The water there is deeper than anything you’ve ever seen
Jump right in and swim until you’re free

I will remember your face
‘Cause I am still in love with that place
But when the stars are the only things we share
Will you be there?

Recovery-single-by-James-Arthur

This I’m hoping is self explanatory after my elephant in the room post. Recovery is hard and long and this song therefore really did hold meaning when it came out! I haven’t listened to this for a little while now but I found it lurking on my spotify playlist!

I don’t want to play this game no more
I don’t wanna play it
I don’t want to stay ’round here no more
I don’t wanna stay here
Like rain on a Monday morning
Like pain that just keeps on going on

Look at all the hate they keep on showing
I don’t want to see that
Look at all the stones they keep on throwing
I don’t want to feel that
Like Sun that will keep on burning
I used to be so discerning, oh

In my recovery
I’m a soldier at war
I have broken down walls
I defined
I designed
My recovery

eminem_i'm_not_afraid-1804377

This is kind of similar to the previous song but this song also got me through a rocky patch and it inspired me to fight and conquer all that was stacked up against me. It was pretty big back in the day and I blooming loved Eminem!

I’m not afraid (I’m not afraid)
To take a stand (to take a stand)
Everybody (everybody)
Come take my hand (come take my hand)
We’ll walk this road together, through the storm
Whatever weather, cold or warm
Just letting you know that you’re not alone
Holler if you feel like you’ve been down the same road (same road)

[Intro (during Chorus):]
Yeah, it’s been a ride
I guess I had to, go to that place, to get to this one
Now some of you, might still be in that place
If you’re trying to get out, just follow me
I’ll get you there

Bastille-Flaws-LyricsI’ve got flaws, you’ve got flaws… basically we’ve all got flaws! This song helped me accept my flaws and accept my quirks its what makes you YOU! Don’t ever try to be anyone but you!

When all of your flaws and all of my flaws are laid out one by one
A wonderful part of the mess that we made
We pick ourselves undone

All of your flaws and all of my flaws, they lie there hand in hand
Ones we’ve inherited, ones that we learn
They pass from man to man

There’s a hole in my soul
I can’t fill it, I can’t fill it
There’s a hole in my soul
Can you fill it? Can you fill it?

You have always worn your flaws upon your sleeve
And I have always buried them deep beneath the ground
Dig them up – let’s finish what we started
Dig them up – so nothing’s left unturned

995017_544745152277784_1751106248_n

I love her song about Body Love… I’m a big promoter of loving your body after years of loathing it! It’s important that women are reminder that they are beautiful inside and out and numbers do not define them! If you ever feel insecure about yourself listen to this pretty powerful song!

Know girls who are trying to fit into the social norm
Like squeezing into last year’s prom dress
I know girls who are low rise, mac eye shadow, and binge drinking
I know girls that wonder if they’re disaster and sexy enough to fit in
I know girls who are fleeing bombs from the mosques of their skin
Playing Russian roulette with death; it’s never easy to accept that our bodies are fallible and flawed
But when do we draw the line?
When the knife hits the skin?
Isn’t it the same thing as purging
Because we’re so obsessed with death
Some women just have more guts than others

The funny thing is women like us don’t shoot
We swallow pills, still wanting to be beautiful at the morgue
Still proceeding to put on make-up
Still hoping that the mortician finds us fuckable and attractive
We might as well be buried with our shoes and handbags and scarves, girls
We flirt with death every time we etch a new tally mark into our skin
I know how to split my wrists to reveal a battlefield too
But the time has come for us to reclaim our bodies

Our bodies deserve more than to be war-torn and collateral

BtzRxo_IMAA6XjC

Sometimes we all need a talk with the big G. This song also got me through quite a troubling time that we had as a family, we sometimes wonder why these bloody awful things happen to good people! It’s hard to not blame the big G because an all loving and knowing God should be preventing this but **** happens unfortunately!

I can’t find the lyrics, sobs!Β 

I think it goes: Here I am waiting, for you to change my heart, for you to fix my life and for you to make me whole…

Bob-The-Builder-Mambo-No5-428400

I thought I’d end this on a comical song, this reminds me of my childhood. I love this song, Will has it on his playlist and when it comes on I KNOW ALL THE WORDS, heck yes I do! It’s classic, hilarious and is a sweet reminder of being a kid!

Are you ready, Bob
Yes
What about you, Lofty
I’m a bit scared
Ok team, let’s go

1, 2, 3, 4, 5 everybody’s outside
So come on let’s ride
To the builder’s yard around the corner
The gang’s all here and it’s time for us to do
What we wanna
There’s a house with a roof that leaks
It’s an urgent job and it could take us weeks
There’s Dizzy, Lofty and Roley too
And Wendy always knows just what to do
And there’s no job too big or small
With Scoop and Muck we can do it all
Metal, brick or wood it’s all good
And we can always send in the tractor

I am so mature I know! Anyway it’s a rap (get the music pun thing I did there πŸ˜‰ oh of course you did you clever little spiders!

Until next time

Love C xo

