Meaningful Monday: Appreciation


image

Hello my little spiderlings! It’s a Monday so we all know what that means! It’s time for a Meaningful Monday! This week I have decided to base my blog post on a quote that I had found online and that particular quote is: “Appreciate everything that you have”. I believe that this is a very important life lesson. I am in the top 10% of the richest in the world. I have a roof over my head, food, clean water, love, education and a whole host of things that I most likely take for granted. In order to be appreciative we need to realise just how grateful we are! It is all too easy to fall into a negative cycle of ‘why me’ but where exactly is this going to get you I ask you? I have been there and I have got the metaphorical t-shirt! I was one of those ‘why me’,’my life sucks’ individuals in society! That may be hard to believe but it was the truth. I was not appreciative of anything. I was in hindsight selfish and ungrateful. I had the most wonderful thing (my life) and I was quite willing to quit it all. So why exactly is this a life lesson to us all you ask? Well when we stop appreciating what we have and who we have we can turn into very negative people to be around. Life isn’t going to be perfect and it’s most definitely not going to be a walk in the park! More like a climb up several hundred mountains wearing questionable shoes! When we stop appreciating everything good that happens to us we can never expect things to improve. When someone’s attitude is so negative about everything and anything they will never be able to appreciate anything they have. They will also crave more in every area and aspect of their lives and this is not healthy! There are people out there that no matter how much they earn, buy and do they will never be content with anything. I was one of those people. I would set myself goal after goal and if I hadn’t got further than my precious attempt I could not be appreciative or happy about anything and I would take my frustration out on anything and everything. This is why it is crucial that we are appreciative of everything that we are fortunate enough to have! We need to appreciate our nearest and dearest, the things Β me and you all take for granted, for opportunities, for disappointments because at the end of the day they mould us into better and stronger individuals who are able to conquer all that life can and does throw at us! I appreciate everything that I have. I have set myself the life long challenge of being appreciative. I am alive. I am happy. I am loved. So what is there not to appreciate? I have opportunities and a bright future ahead of me, why should I have the right to chose to ignore just how lucky I am! So the moral of this Meaningful Monday is to stop playing the ‘sorry for myself’ card. It’s to start appreciating every little millisecond of life, the good, mediocre and the down right bad. I have challenged myself to lead a life of appreciation. So why don’t you actively chose to change your mindset, to be proactive instead of crying over spilt milk so to speak! So who is appreciative for everything they have *raises hand and a glass for trying my hardest at being appreciative for all that I have*

I will be back tomorrow with a ‘Travel Tuesday’

Love and hugs

Leave a Reply

