Screen shot 2015-11-17 at 08.46.41

I am one of those who decided to put a temporary French flag filter on my social media page, in my opinion it was not a ‘big’ thing it was more to show support for France my neighbouring country whose heritage is still clearly apparent on this island to this day. I did not chose the filter merely because this attack happened in the western world. There have been a lot of attacks on individuals due to their decision to adopt a temporary French flag. I would just like to say that I have been supporting those who are persecuted for as long as I can remember, at Christmas time I would write cards to individuals in prison who had been persecuted over their faith, I am by no means belittling any other attack in any other country.

My heart breaks when dozens upon dozens of innocent civilians in war torn counties lose their innocent lives. I have heard from the vicar of Baghdad just how terrifying it is to live in the home front, to never know when gunman will storm the building and kill all your congregation along with yourself, I have read and learnt about the persecution of those in the Middle East and Asia. There are such atrocities globally and I’m by no means in denial about the situation. Yes this attack happened close to home, yes people I know live, work and study in Paris, it’s a place we’ve walked down the streets of and have holiday snaps of. I wrote cards to the persecuted in Syria, in Africa, in the Middle East and Asia. I read their heart breaking stories, I read how they watched loved ones be gunned down by savages, this is unfortunately a daily occurrence and yes where is the support for these dozens of people who go to bed and question whether they will ever see the light of day, where is the Facebook support for these people.

I wholeheartedly feel like right now we as a society should be spreading the love globally, instead of getting het up over filters on Facebook and safety check ins we shouldn’t bother wasting time bickering whether that was the right thing to do or not. It’s a fact that the UK and other countries in the EU have been severely rocked by this. I genuinely think it took for such an event to happen so close to home for people to realise the severity of it all. The whole world is hurting, the whole world is under threat. Yes, I am showing my support to Paris but this by no means suggests that I am not showing my support to all those other and broken places in the world, to the children who through the hands of savages are now orphaned, to the soldiers risking their lives to keep us safe and cosy in our beds, to the innocent families evicted from their homes by explosions and shrapnel, for the families grieving for their loss home and abroad. I stand by all of these causes. We need to spread the love and stop getting so worked up over simple things like filters of a flag.

