{Long distance relationships}

To some a few hours may not seem like a big deal, in fact for any of you that have to contend with a 24 hr flight to see your love… I admire you.

rr2-e1409825370246

I have been in a ‘LDR’ for a year nearly! It has without doubt been one of the best years of my life and despite the distance and time spent apart we are pretty solid I’d like to think. I’m not quite sure where to start but I met Will in Sheffield last year and since then it’s literally been a whirlwind of fun, laughter, love and adventures!

I think what makes it easier is that our families both live in the same place which makes holidays a little easier and means we get to travel back home together. We are in some ways completely opposite but in other ways pretty similar. I was a little spoilt last year, he was working in Sheffield for the majority of the year which meant I got to see him most weeks several times a week and I spent the majority of summer with him. I didn’t take it for granted so to speak and I made sure I tried to capture as many dreamy adventures as physically possible.

It can be difficult, I’m nearing the end of my second year at university and Will is a working man with a real job that can be fairly demanding. We try our absolute best, it is what it is so to speak and so we just hold onto time we’ve spent together. We make plans which helps and reluctantly use Whatsapp to keep in touch daily (lets face it messaging is not the same as in person but beggars cannot be choosers! We phone each other probably once a week to once every fortnight but it works because that way we actually have things to talk about. We tag each other on various posts that would appeal to us and like to watch similar videos on Youtube. We can wind each other up and have the odd tif here and there (mostly because we are both incredibly stubborn) but they are never words of hate.

Our relationship is built on the basis of mutual respect for one another, there are only words of encouragement or pet names ushered. We try our hardest to support each other whilst remaining hundreds of miles apart. We have at times been tested through a multitude of situations and yet we still remain strong.

I try to never leave on a bad word or go to sleep on a bad word, I try to use the ‘L’ word as much as possible. Love is a wonderful thing. I will forever be grateful for every precious moment we have spent together.

β€œNothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty… I have never in my life envied a human being who led an easy life. I have envied a great many people who led difficult lives and led them well"

IMG_0394 copy

A relationship should never be taken for granted, it should be loved and nurtured.

-Theodore Roosevelt

4 thoughts on “{Long distance relationships}

  1. jrose88 March 6, 2016 / 10:10 pm

    Messaging is definitely not the same as face to face, to be sure. Even Skype or FaceTime isn’t a great substitute. My partner was in London for a year while I was still in California, and the eight hour time difference was just crazy. I did a lot of FaceTime calls during my lunch break at work while it was dinner time over there. Not being together in person sometimes lead to misunderstandings, but that’s just what happens and I’d like to think that overall it made us stronger as a couple. Surviving long distance means you can survive anything, right?

    Like

    • Charlotte Wilkinson March 6, 2016 / 10:13 pm

      I totally agree with you! Wow that is a long way and the time difference must have been infuriating at times! I very much agree with you, I think LDR’s are a way of proving that your love is a whole lot more than physical and if they can withstand tough times then I think you must be on to a winner! Thank you for taking the time to read my post πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • jrose88 March 6, 2016 / 10:14 pm

        The one good thing I have to say about long distance was that the Valentine’s Day my partner flew all the way home to totally, double-take surprise me was kinda one of the best days of my life. Thanks for the good post. 😊

        Like

      • Charlotte Wilkinson March 6, 2016 / 10:17 pm

        Oh my word that was incredibly lovely of them! I bet you had the most wonderful day together! I’m glad you appreciated it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

