Let’s talk about the future

Evening!

So I’ve been doing some thinking about that big and scary concept otherwise known as the future! Where on earth has the time gone? One minute it felt like I was a little girl and the next I’m planning for big things. For those of you who are fairly new, maybe I should kind of first address what I’m actually doing with my life!

So in short I’m in my final year of my LLB (put simple I’m a final year law student, who will soon be a law graduate before you know it…) So yeah. Law is my area. I mean I’m interested in a lot of other areas such as owning pretty patterned kitchen ware and being an avid dungaree and pinafore wearer… but if we are being serious. Law is my ‘thing’ which might sound cliche.

I had a chat with my darling Mumsie today over the phone about what to do next. I suppose I’d compare it to that feeling when you ended an era at school. Looking back the transitional period between primary and secondary seemed monumental… so if we scale the transitional period by 100 then that sort of explains it. Maybe. We were saying how she remembers attending the opening day and remembers me clearly saying I want to be like those people and now I’m literally like the people that were selling the course to prospective students! It’s crazy how time flies!

Anyway I got waylaid, no surprises… back to the future

150102-back-to-the-future-mn-850_6c1cc5c2a0c7767b593e1bf9054a4d0f-nbcnews-fp-1200-800

(sorry couldn’t resist that opportunity, I’m so weak)

In terms of my future, I mean there are quite a lot of options in hindsight, i’ll list some

  • Get a job
  • Do a master
  • LPC (Legal practice course)
  • Cilex route (fast track diploma to qualify as a chartered legal executive)
  • Paralegal-ing
  • Lucrative TC (training contract)299655-pokemon-19-rattata

So there’s my options. I mean in an ideal world wouldn’t it be fab if training contracts appeared as often as bloomingΒ rattatas… (such pesky things!) Oh it would also be fab if money Β grew on trees in order to pay for such things. My initial thought was to do the LPC, there is of course a but. The LPC is due to change in a few years and my lecturers/seminar tutors are unsure whether to advise the LPC because of the planned change. One thing I know for certain is that I am moving from the North. I’ll be honest my heart just isn’t here anymore and if I’m honest it’s only with one person who resides in the South… so yeah go figure! I’m a southern softie and I’ve managed living here on my own for two years (9 months to go) but I’m ready to let go.

So, I have come up with a bit of a plan. I’m going to literally throw my all into this year and my practical based modules! I’m here to get a degree and that’s very much my attitude for this year. No faffing as I like to call it. Anyway back to the plan. I’ve taken a lot of factors into account such as finance, happiness, practicality and realistic expectations. So this girl is planning to go down the Cilex route. It’s cost effective, working counts towards qualifying, no pricey LPC or lucrative training contract, salary is similar and you can still become a partner of a firm (that my friends is a dream right there!) I can basically start the course at any point during the year and I’m eligible for fast track because I have a law degree which means I do not have to dable with the delights such as tort and equity and trust again! I can do it remotely through distance learning and it literally costs a fraction of the price! In a realistic world it is also more probable that I will be able to get a paralegal role instead of a hard to come by TC!

That is the plan.

I’m excited. I need to start keeping an eye out for jobs and need to be pushed into a car head first and be forced to drive the damn thing. I feel like now I have a plan, I am better prepared for what I have to start doing.

Blog wise: I’m not sure where this blog is going. I just really enjoy it, and enjoy your lovely comments and reading other bloggers work! I mean I am already inundated with research and work and it is only going to get worse so the content may dip here and there but I do ultimately want to keep my little bit of the webosphere running! I feel like this blog houses a lot of special memories and is effectively a bit of a diary and I like it. I think it will be good to look back on in the future. It will be good to see musings that share my thoughts and posts that house fun filled adventures. I hope you’ll stick with me! I mean I’ll never be one of those that makes a career out of their passion because law is demanding and I haven’t worked hard to simply throw it all away.

I hope you understand! BUT I am overall excited! I’m excited about the future! I’m excited about potential job prospects, I’m excited about my future with my partner in crime and I’m just excited to see what life has to offer for the two of us! It’s all very exciting and change is good!

On that note chums, I am off to bed as I have a 9am employment lecture to contend with (and live about 40 mins away!)

 

Leave a Reply

