12 days of Blogmas- day 1

Hiya! I cannot believe it’s the 12th already! I have decided to do the 12 days of Christmas (leading up to Christmas Eve!) I did something similar last year but there were set questions. This year however Charzweb is going solo and I shall aim to post every day till Christmas Eve!

image-6

I thought to start off ‘Blogmas’ I would ease myself in slowly. I want to talk about something that I have wholeheartedly been smitten with over the last few weeks…

Screen Shot 2016-12-12 at 21.19.35.png
My one true love (after William ofc) are these bad boys!

Oh my, I love me a mince pie or two… maybe three! I feel like the really odd thing is that last year I wasn’t overly fussed over a mince pie. I mean I might have had one at a carol service here and there but overall I could take it or leave it basically. Well, this has most definitely changed.

I love mince pies.Β 

It’s all I ever fancy! Give me a mince pie and a glass of mulled wine and I’d be well away! I blooming love them. My love for them has grown so incredibly strong that I set myself a bit of a challenge. I decided to go around the different shops and find out which shop offers the best mince pie.

screen-shot-2016-12-02-at-16-38-46

I started off with Sainsbury Taste the Difference ^ I mean they were seriously good but cost around Β£4 which meant they were fairly pricy! I must say they were a good starting point and they were winning for a while at least! I should note that I have been told by Will that Iceland and Aldi do the best mince pies but I haven’t bought any from there so I cannot confirm whether this is correct? In hindsight Will normally knows what floats my boat! If you have experience with Aldi & Iceland mince pies I’d love to know πŸ˜‰

I’m a bit of a crap blogger however because I failed to take photos of the other brands. So apols about that! I don’t think I could physically wait to snap the moment before demolishing these tasty boys.

I did get a packet from Waitrose and they were also pretty good! They had a bit too much pie to mince ratio however which means they are not coming first place in the 2016 Mince Pie Extravaganza. If you already follow me on Instagram I apologise because you’ll already know who is the winner of the 2016 Mince Pie Awards.

But before I disclose that information, got to give a worthy mention to Tesco… I think these are on a level playing field with Waitrose, the pie to mince ratio was a bit out. I wanted more mince and less pie to be honest with you!

The final contender is M&S who had ones with stars on and they very much had a homemade vibe. (It’s the one on the pretty CK plate back at the start). I’m going to come straight out with it. THESE WERE GOOD. Oh my. They were fabulous! Perhaps that indicates who is the winner of the Mince Pie Awards 2016!!!

Screen Shot 2016-12-12 at 21.36.29.png
M&S is the winner of the Mince Pie Awards 2016

BTW… I can’t guarantee their will be an award ceremony in every Blogmas but I’ll try my best! I’d love to know about any other worthy contenders!?

Are you loving the whole mince pie and mulled wine way of life at this time of year?

See you wonderful beings tomorrow!

C xxx

Leave a Reply

