Book review: My Not So Perfect Life, Sophie Kinsella

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 21.05.10.png

Guess whose back? Back again!

It’s meeeeee.

I’m all about book reviews these days, in fact my book addiction will only escalate once my degree is over because you will most definitely find me curled up with a book in the lounge or when it’s sunny propped up in the garden basking in the sun with another beauty! But alas for now I am swamped with work and cannot justify too much reading!

Anyway, I’ll get distracted and start spouting utter nonsense… I mean it’s not already a regular occurrence right?

So, it might shock you to hear that this was the first book I had read by Sophie Kinsella! It’s not my normal kind of genre, I’m more of a ‘who’dun’it girl but I’ve recently been quite the dare devil! I got the book in hardback and it was so very satisfying to hold and don’t even start me on the smell! In fact Will was on about buying me a kindle but I just enjoy the holding of the book and the glorious covers!

So, the book was based upon a character called Katie Brenner, otherwise known as ‘Kat’ in her ‘other life’. She basically works in London in some form of marketing. The book explores the concept of perception verses reality which I particularly likes. Kat was infamous for posting juicy images on instagram of posh coffee that you need to take out a loan to afford, fancy restaurants and daily life in London! It was always Kat’s dream to live in London after she left university and was adamant that she did not want to return home to Somerset where her Dad and Step-mum lived. Kat lived in London is a ‘cool flat’ had a ‘glamorous job’, ‘fabulous commute’ and to the outside word everything looked tickety boo! In reality her room in the house share was so small that she had to use a hammock to store her stuff, the flatmates were questionable and the commute was diabolical! Instagram however told a different story but she was sure it was about to change!

That was till she was dismissed from her job and didn’t know what the heck to do! She headed back to sleepy Somerset when she heard of an exciting venture that her dad and Step Mum had thought of doing … glamping…

Oh I forgot. Of course there is a man on the scene, it’s a very realistic love story. It’s a very real reality for a lot of people, living in London isn’t as glam as it might sound! Another big character of the book is Katie’s boss who gave her the sack. It seems that Demeter (her now ex-boss) has the perfect life with fancy house, perfect kids and high flying career… I’m not going to spoil it but us humans are all too quick to judge at times!

It was a very enlightening read and asked one to readdress that we should not be so quick to judge and behind closed doors not everything is as peachy as it seems!

It’s mostly definitely a great representation of many people and I think a lot of readers can relate! It’s a very easy to read book and the characters are extremely memorable! I’m not one to spill the whole plot… so my advice is to read it! I would like to put it in the ‘very easy to read category’ and is absolutely ideal when your flight is cancelled and you are stranded at the airport for 12 hours…

Good book.

8/10

Leave a Reply

